Established by order of the Secretary of the Navy, 18 December 1944, it is awarded by the Secretary to any ship, aircraft, detachment, or other unit of the naval service of the United States Navy which has, subsequent to 6 December 1941, distinguished itself by outstanding heroism in action against the enemy, but not sufficient to justify award of the Presidential Unit Citation.