Establishing Authority:

The Arctic Service Ribbon was established on May 8, 1986, by Secretary of the Navy John F. Lehman, Jr. and announced by OPNAVNOTE 1650 of June 3, 1987.

Effective Dates:

The Arctic Service Ribbon was made retroactive to January 1, 1982.


The Arctic Service Ribbon is awarded to military personnel the Navy and Marine Corps and to civilian citizens, nationals, or resident aliens of the United States for 28 days of service above the Arctic Circle. For personnel working at remote ice camps and divers working under the ice, each day of duty will count as two days when determining award eligibility. There are no subsequent awards of this ribbon.

Order of Precedence:

The Arctic Service Ribbon is worn after the Sea Service Deployment Ribbon and before the Naval Reserve Sea Service Ribbon.


No devices have been authorized for the Arctic Service Ribbon.